TheWordPoint alternative for certified translation (USCIS purposes)
Corpus Localization · ATA corporate member #M-189351 · Updated September 2026
Corpus Localization is a TheWordPoint alternative for certified document translation at $19.99/page flat for every document type, with 24-hour standard delivery (same-day +$9.99 before 2PM ET), a signed Certificate of Accuracy with every translation, ATA corporate membership #M-189351, and a New York–New Jersey base with a dedicated workflow for immigration law firms.
This page does not score TheWordPoint’s service quality. It quotes TheWordPoint’s own published prices and terms as of September 2026 (footnoted below), lists what to verify with any provider, and states exactly what Corpus Localization offers — so you can compare like for like.
What should you check before choosing a TheWordPoint alternative?
Check five things with any provider: the certification wording (it must state completeness, accuracy, and translator competence), the pricing basis (advertised floor versus the published price for your actual document), the turnaround for your file, how stamps and back sides are counted, and whether a human reviews unclear files before you pay. Those five checks predict acceptance more reliably than any brand name. Already holding a specific document? Start there: birth certificate translation, USCIS translation services, or what certified translation costs.
How do TheWordPoint and Corpus Localization prices compare?
TheWordPoint advertises certified translation “starting from $16.50 per page.”1 By its own published table, that floor applies to its cheapest document class — driver’s licenses, IDs, passports — at the 3+ page volume-discount tier. Its homepage FAQ puts common immigration documents at $24.75–$39 per page,2 and its USCIS page FAQ confirms “Prices start at $35.75 per page for birth certificates.”4 Corpus Localization charges $19.99/page flat for every document type, with no volume threshold. Always compute the total for your actual document before comparing.
| What to compare | Corpus Localization | TheWordPoint (published) |
|---|---|---|
| Certified pricing basis | $19.99/page flat, all document types | “Starting from $16.50 per page” (IDs/passports, 3+ page tier); immigration documents $24.75–$39/page1, 2 |
| Birth certificate, 1 page | $19.99 | $35.751, 4 |
| Marriage certificate, 1 page | $19.99 | $36.751 |
| Academic transcript, per page | $19.99 | $38.75 (single page)1 |
| Standard turnaround | 24 hours for standard clear files | “Within 24–48 hours” on the certified page; “Delivered in 24 Hours” on the USCIS page3, 4 |
| Rush option | Same-day, +$9.99, files in before 2PM ET | “Rush delivery available upon request”3 |
| Certificate | Signed Certificate of Accuracy with every translation, drafted to 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3) | “TWP Translation Accuracy Certificate” including the translator’s name and signature2, 3 |
| Refund terms | Questions answered before you pay; quotes within the hour in business hours | Tiered and conditional: 100% only before a translator starts; 70% after assignment; 50% past half the deadline; partial for “significant errors”; 10-business-day claim window5 |
| ATA | Corporate member #M-189351 | “Certified Translators by ATA” badge; menu cites ATA, BDÜ, NAJIT2, 3 |
| Local presence | New York–New Jersey metro | Not disclosed on the pages reviewed |
| Law-firm workflow | Dedicated attorney workflow, RFE-ready, client-pays billing | Not disclosed on the pages reviewed |
What does USCIS actually require from a certified translation?
USCIS requires a full English translation together with a signed certification that the translation is complete and accurate and that the translator is competent to translate from the foreign language into English — that requirement is 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3). Notarization is not required by USCIS, and USCIS does not publish an approval list for private translation companies — no provider, TheWordPoint or Corpus included, is “USCIS-approved.”
The certificate wording therefore matters more than the brand. Corpus Localization includes a signed, CFR-compliant Certificate of Accuracy with every translation, stating completeness, accuracy, and translator competence — the wording the regulation calls for on translations for USCIS purposes. To TheWordPoint’s credit, its certified and USCIS pages cite 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3) correctly,2, 4 and its FAQ correctly tells buyers not to order notarization for USCIS submissions.3
What do the turnaround and guarantee terms actually say?
Read the fine print, whoever you choose. TheWordPoint’s USCIS page hero says “Delivered in 24 Hours,” while its certified-service page states “Standard delivery is within 24–48 hours”3, 4 — get the turnaround for your specific file in writing. On guarantees: TheWordPoint displays a “Guaranteed Acceptance by USCIS” badge,2, 4 but its money-back-guarantee page describes tiered, conditional refunds — 100% only if you cancel before a translator starts, 70% after assignment, 50% once half the deadline has passed, a partial refund for “significant errors,” claims within 10 business days. The page we reviewed does not state an unconditional refund for a USCIS rejection.5
Corpus Localization delivers standard clear files in 24 hours, same-day for +$9.99 on files received before 2PM ET. Anything uncertain — handwriting, faded stamps, back-side text — goes to quote review before payment, answered within the hour during business hours, so scope surprises are resolved before money changes hands.
Who translates and who signs the certificate?
TheWordPoint states “Human Translation Only” on its certified page, describes translators “certified by ATA, BDÜ, NAJIT,” and names the translator on its accuracy certificate2, 3 — credit where due. Its own USCIS FAQ also concedes, correctly, that USCIS does not require ATA certification.4 At Corpus Localization, every translation is reviewed and signed off by a qualified human, and the signed Certificate of Accuracy carries that signer’s name. Corpus is an ATA corporate member, #M-189351 — a corporate membership, not an individual translator credential, and USCIS requires neither.
When is TheWordPoint a reasonable choice?
Honestly: for a batch of ID-class documents — driver’s licenses or passports at three-plus pages — TheWordPoint’s published $16.50–$18.75 tier undercuts $19.99/page.1 Its non-certified per-word rates start from $0.05/word,1 and it advertises 80+ languages — its claim, not verified by us.2 For a single birth or marriage certificate, a transcript, or an attorney-managed filing, the math reverses: Corpus Localization’s flat $19.99/page beats TheWordPoint’s published $35.75–$39.85 single-page range on every certificate class in its table.1
What should immigration law firms look at differently?
Firms should weigh turnaround under RFE deadlines, a consistent certificate format across filings, a named point of contact, and client billing. Corpus runs a dedicated workflow for immigration law firms: RFE-ready certified translations with priority turnaround, a consistent signed certificate format, a client-pays option, and Clio integration for ordering from inside a matter — free for firms to join. The TheWordPoint pages reviewed here do not describe a law-firm program; ask them directly if you need one.
Frequently asked questions
Does USCIS accept translations from TheWordPoint or Corpus Localization?
Yes — USCIS does not approve or reject companies. Under 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3), USCIS accepts any full English translation accompanied by a signed certification that the translation is complete and accurate and that the translator is competent. Translations from TheWordPoint, Corpus, or any provider qualify when the certification meets that standard. Corpus Localization includes a signed, CFR-compliant Certificate of Accuracy with every translation.
Is TheWordPoint legit for USCIS translations?
This page does not score TheWordPoint. On the pages reviewed in September 2026, TheWordPoint cites 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3) correctly and gives correct notarization guidance. Before paying, compute the price for your actual document — its published single-page birth certificate price is $35.75, not the advertised $16.50 floor — and read the tiered refund terms behind the acceptance badge.
Why is Corpus $19.99/page when TheWordPoint advertises $16.50?
TheWordPoint’s $16.50 floor applies to its cheapest document class — driver’s licenses, IDs, passports — at the 3+ page volume tier. Its published single-page price for a birth certificate is $35.75. Corpus Localization charges $19.99/page flat for every document type with no volume threshold, so one certificate costs $19.99, and so does the fifth.
Do I need notarization for a USCIS translation?
No. USCIS requires a certified translation with a signed certification of accuracy under 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3); notarization is not required. TheWordPoint’s own FAQ agrees, telling buyers not to order notarization for USCIS submissions unless a specific institution requires it. Pay for notarization only when a non-USCIS recipient demands it in writing — see certified vs notarized translation.
How fast can a TheWordPoint alternative deliver?
Corpus Localization delivers standard clear files in 24 hours, with same-day delivery for +$9.99 on files received before 2PM ET. TheWordPoint’s certified page lists standard delivery within 24–48 hours, with rush available on request. Whichever provider you choose, get the turnaround for your actual file — page count, scan quality, language — confirmed in writing.
Ready to compare on your actual document? Start your order with Corpus Localization — $19.99/page flat, 24-hour standard delivery, signed Certificate of Accuracy on every translation.
Sources
All TheWordPoint prices, quotes, and terms above come from these live pages, each as of September 2026. Published terms change; check current versions before ordering.
- thewordpoint.com/prices — “starting from $16.50 per page”; per-document price table; per-word rates from $0.05/word. As of September 2026.
- thewordpoint.com — homepage FAQ range $24.75–$39/page; acceptance-guarantee and 8 CFR 103.2(b)(3) statements; “Human Translation Guaranteed”; ATA/BDÜ/NAJIT and language-count claims. As of September 2026.
- thewordpoint.com/services/certified — “Standard delivery is within 24–48 hours”; rush on request; “Human Translation Only”; notarization FAQ; certificate description. As of September 2026.
- thewordpoint.com USCIS page — “Delivered in 24 Hours” hero; “$35.75 per page for birth certificates” FAQ; acceptance-guarantee wording; ATA-not-required FAQ. As of September 2026.
- thewordpoint.com/money-back-guarantee — tiered refund percentages; 10-business-day claim window. As of September 2026.
Other certified-translation comparisons
Comparing more than one provider? Corpus vs RushTranslate · Corpus vs RapidTranslate · Corpus vs MotaWord · Corpus vs ImmiTranslate